Authors Spotlight

Defiant Unto Death

Displaying Tour banner DAVID GILMAN  for JENNY.jpg

 

What’s it all about?

A LEGEND FORGED IN BATTLE: Thomas Blackstone must face an implacable foe as

the 100 Years’ War enters its bloodiest phase.

Ten years ago, the greatest army in Christendom was slaughtered at Crécy when Thomas Blackstone and his fellow archers stood their ground and rained death on the steel­clad might of French chivalry. Blackstone left that squalid field a knight.

Now, Blackstone commands a war band and has carved out a small fiefdom in northern France. But the wounds of war still bleed and a traitor has given the King of France the means to destroy first his family, and then the English knight himself.

As the traitor’s net tightens, so the French King’s army draws in. Blackstone will stand and fight –in pitched battle and in single combat. He will defy his friends, his family and his king. He may yet defy death, but he can’t defy his destiny: BLACKSTONE: MASTER OF WAR.

About the Author

David Gilman was raised in Liverpool and educated in Wales. By the time he was 16 he was driving a battered 1946 Ford, ferrying construction workers in the African bush. A variety of jobs followed in different countries: fire and rescue, forestry work, JCB driver, window dresser and professional photographer in an advertising agency. He served in the Parachute Regiment’s Reconnaissance Platoon and then worked in publishing. In 1986 he turned to full­time writing. He has written many radio and television scripts including several years of ‘A Touch of Frost’. In

2007 his ‘Danger Zone’ trilogy for YA was sold in 15 countries. The first in the series – The Devil’s Breath was long listed for the CILIP Carnegie Medal and won the French Prix Polar Jeunesse. He also writes for younger children. MONKEY and ME has been nominated for this year’s Carnegie Medal. ‘MASTER of WAR’ is the first in a series of HF for adults that follows the fortunes of Thomas Blackstone during the 100 Years’ War.

Links- find out more:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23641374­master­of­war?ac=1#other_reviews

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1781851905/ref=x_gr_w_bb?ie=UTF8&tag=x_gr_w_bb_uk­21&linkCode=as2&camp=1634&creative=6738

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Defiant­Unto­Death­Master­War-ebook/dp/B00L38A8KU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1440424709&sr=8­1&keywords=defiant+unto+death

Website: http://www.davidgilman.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/617659.David_Gilman

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/davidgilmanuk

I think this looks a really interesting read and historical fiction is something I want to get more in to. I enjoy books that are educational too.

What do you think? Do you like historical reads?

Lucyx

7 thoughts on “Defiant Unto Death

  1. Hi Lucy! Thanks for your nice comment recently, I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you but I’ve been on my phone when trying to find your blog and your Google+ doesn’t lead me here sadly so I searched on Google at home!! I hope all is well with you. x

    Like

    1. Thank you for taking the time to do so! I love your blog and really enjoy reading about a fellow lover of Doctor Who, brooches and fashion as well as a Christian. I’ve just opened my etsy shop selling brooches so am excited about that! Hope you’re wellx

      Like

  2. Blog, blog, blog, blog!!!!!!!! Come on Lucy!!!OOoh, I’ll have a look at the brooches!!
    P.S: I have a favour to ask- I’ve entered Lady Vintage’s competition to style one of their dresses and send in a photo and if you liked my picture best out of the entries, I’d love it if you felt able to vote for me by liking my picture! Cheeky, I know, but I really want to win- never won anything like that before!
    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.864013323713000.1073741877.144939495620390&type=1&l=8c4891a181

    Like

  3. That’s so nice to say that!! Thank you! Oooh, I shall look at your Etsy- can I see it on the sidebar? (just looked- where is the link!?) . And please blog, I look forward to reading more!
    P.S. I have a favour to ask- I’ve entered Lady Vintage’s competition to style one of their dresses and send in a photo and if you liked my picture best out of the entries, I’d love it if you felt able to vote for me by liking my picture! Cheeky, I know, but I really want to win- never won anything like that before!
    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.864013323713000.1073741877.144939495620390&type=1&l=8c4891a181

    Like

    1. Hi sweetie. I will indeed blog soon. My ME has been pretty rough recently hence the lack of blog posts! Are u on twitter? Do u fancy being pen pals (email or otherwise)? OK if not. I will of course vote lovely.😍 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

