Poetry corner

Poetry Corner- They Flee From Me

Poetry is something I particularly enjoy but never seem to talk about! I thought this was about time that changed. As of now  I will be posting some of my favourite poems and if I’m feeling brave maybe even some of the ones I’ve written.  Poems like plays are best when read aloud and I would encourage you to do so or if you can, get someone to read it out to you. Pure bliss.

Kicking us off is one of my all time favourites. One line in particular stands out for me, can you guess what it is?

They Flee From Me

BY SIR THOMAS WYATT

They flee from me that sometime did me seek
With naked foot, stalking in my chamber.
I have seen them gentle, tame, and meek,
That now are wild and do not remember
That sometime they put themself in danger
To take bread at my hand; and now they range,
Busily seeking with a continual change.
Thanked be fortune it hath been otherwise
Twenty times better; but once in special,
In thin array after a pleasant guise,
When her loose gown from her shoulders did fall,
And she me caught in her arms long and small;
Therewithall sweetly did me kiss
And softly said, “Dear heart, how like you this?”
It was no dream: I lay broad waking.
But all is turned thorough my gentleness
Into a strange fashion of forsaking;
And I have leave to go of her goodness,
And she also, to use newfangleness.
But since that I so kindly am served
I would fain know what she hath deserved.
Are you a poetry fan? Do you have a favourite? I would love to hear it.
Lucyx
2 thoughts on “Poetry Corner- They Flee From Me

Leave a Reply

