Cinderella- Camille Rose Garcia

I was very excited to win a copy of this gorgeous book. Twitter competition, you had to say who your prince charming would be, for the record I picked Laurie from Little Women (the book). I had a huge crush on him when I was younger and desperately wanted to be Jo (who should have ended up with him!).

Anyway, literary crushes aside, I didn’t know what to expect when this arrived through my door. It is a hardcover retelling of Cinderella or The Little Glass Slipper by Charles Perrault with illustrations by the talented Camille Rose Garcia. It is equal parts beautiful and creepy. No Disney style telling here. The ugly sisters are hideous and Cinderella is elegant but not polished.

When my best friend found out I had won this she was so excited, so you can tell who it is going to live with next! It is such an unusual book, almost more of a graphic novel than a ‘normal’ hardcover but I am so glad I had the chance to read it.

It is available to buy here and to see more of the talented Camilles work visit her website here.

 

Thank you to Harper Design for such a lovely prize!

Lucyx

One thought on “Cinderella- Camille Rose Garcia

Leave a Reply

