Everflame

Picture

 

Today’author spotlight is Dylan Lee Peters, author of the Everflame fantasy series, available in paperback, hardback and now e-reader. Without much further ado, take it away Dylan!

 

Summarize your book in three sentences.

Everflame is an epic tale of good versus evil, in a world of adventure and imagination. . We follow the tale of a very young boy who is found in the woods by bears, and raised as a member of their kingdom. As he ages, he is faced with an evil that threatens to destroy his world, and he must quest to prevent that from happening.

What inspired you to write your book?

I’ve always been a creative person and creating stories in my head was just something that came naturally. I attempted writing after having a very lucid dream, and what started out as a short story quickly escalated into something much larger.

Is there a theme or message that you want the readers to take away from the book?

The concept of Everflame means something to me that is more than what the Everflame is in the books. It stands for my ethics, philosophies, and character, and I believe it can mean that for anyone. I see the concept of Everflame as an individual’s inner barometer. It’s something to think about when you need to look within yourself for strength. The strength I find within myself, I call Everflame.

In the story, the Everflame is a literal flame that burns eternally atop Gray Mountain, the home of the bears who find the young boy abandoned in the forest. The flame is a symbol of the bears of enduring spirit. It resides as the core of their ethics and all they are. An excerpt from the book sees Whiteclaw, a bear, explain the meaning of the Everflame.

“The Everflame is a symbol. It has no power. It’s just a reminder of something we all have, our spirit. And it is to this spirit that we are accountable. Not to an all- powerful tyrant, not even to ancient creators, simply to ourselves. By making an oath to the Everflame, I am merely making an oath to all that I am. If I break that oath, it is I who suffer the greatest loss, and nothing can change that… We all have the ability to judge our own hearts, and we should all have the courage to do so.”

What was the last book you read?

I read Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. It was a fun read that brought back of lot of nostalgic memories. I enjoyed it and thought it was a great concept. Actually, I wrote a blog post about it that can be found here:

http://www.dylanleepeters.com/blog/category/ready-player-one 

Who are your favourite authors?

I would say that Ayn Rand is my favourite author and all others are a distant second. Anthem by Ayn Rand has remained my favourite book for years. Just say the word dystopia and I’m in. Its mix of science fiction, Rand’s philosophy, and self-righteous rebellion keep me coming back, over and over. It’s a very quick read and I think that’s partly what inspired me to make the Everflame books rapid reads. Best quote: “But what is freedom? Freedom from what? There is nothing to take a man’s freedom away from him, save other men. To be free, a man must be free of his brothers. That is freedom. That and nothing else.” ― Ayn Rand, Anthem

 

Thank you to Dylan for dropping by. If you’d like to find out more about Dylan and the Everflame series click here.

Leave a Reply

