Book review

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold

I was very fortunate to receive a copy of Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold to review, although it has taken me awhile to review it, it was certainly worth the rate.

Some background on Kitty

The curse of the Yukon Gold is the first in the series, of which there are four so far:

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (Book 1)
Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost (Book 2)
Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (Book 3)
Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the R.M.S. Titanic (Book 4)

Kitty Hawk is an adventurous and fearless teenager, who is intelligent, extremely curious and a licensed pilot to boot!

Ian’s (Iain reading- author) website summarises her perfectly! ‘A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew, Harriet the Spy and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations.’

What is it all about?

Kitty leaves her home (western Canadian fishing village Tofino) to study humpback whales for the summer, in Alaska. This in itself would be enough of an adventure for most people, never mind flying their own plane. Yet this is small fry compared to what Kitty discovers. Shipwrecks, stolen gold, curses, criminals,  thievery  and danger abound!

Set in the beautiful Alaskan landscape, this is a superb start to an exciting series.

Excerpt One

The enigma of the missing island.

The conundrum of what do I do now?

“Exactly,” the little voice inside my head said to me in one of those annoying ‘I-told-you-so’ kind of voices. “What do you do now?”

“First, I am going to stay calm,” I replied. “And think this through.”

“You’d better think fast,” the little voice said, and I could almost hear it tapping on the face of a tiny wristwatch somewhere up there in my psyche. “If you want to make it to your twentieth birthday, that is. Don’t forget that you’re almost out of fuel.”

“Thanks a lot,” I replied. “You’re a big help.”

Easing forward with the control wheel I pushed my trusty De Havilland Beaver into a nosedive. Residual fuel from the custom-made fuel tanks at the back of the passenger cabin dutifully followed the laws of gravity and spilled forward, accumulating at the front and allowing the fuel pumps to transfer the last remaining drops of fuel into the main forward belly tank. This maneuver breathed life back into the engine and bought me a few more precious minutes to ponder my situation.

“Mayday, mayday, mayday,” I said, keying my radio transmitter as I leveled my flight path out again. “This is aircraft Charlie Foxtrot Kilo Tango Yankee, calling any ground station or vessel hearing this message, over.”

I keyed the mic off and listened intently for a reply. Any reply. Please? But there was nothing. There was barely even static. My radio was definitely fried. It was hard to believe that it would all come down to this. After the months of preparation and training. After all the adventures that I’d had, the friends I’d made, the beauty I’d experienced, the differences and similarities I’d discovered from one culture to the next and from one human being to the next. All of this in the course of my epic flight around the entire world.

Or I should say, “my epic flight almost around the entire world,” in light of my current situation.

If you fancy having a read of more of Kitty’s adventures, check out the sample chapter here

So what did I think?

In all honesty, I absolutely loved this book. Kitty is a wonderful heroine, intelligent, adventurous and surprisingly relatable. She is a charming and interesting character with a thirst for knowledge and discovery which is refreshing. There is no desperate love triangle, no dire straits dystopia situation. For anyone who has met a determined, intelligent teenager (there are many around), Kitty feels real. As we journeyed together through Canada and Alaska (both places I would like to visit) I could imagine the story unfolding, anxiously waiting to find out if Kitty would survive each peril she faced (spoiler- she did!) I was completely enthralled in the ride.

I would definitely recommend the Curse of the Yukon Gold and will be sure to read the rest of the series.

What do you think? Is this something you’d be interested in?

Let me know

Lucyx

Leave a Reply

