Live to Eat

Today’s spotlight is courtesy of Adam Pittaway-Hay and his new book Live to Eat, meals everyone can make.
 
When did you first discover your love of cooking?
I first discovered my love of cooking when I was quite young. I loved cooking at home and used to experiment often in the kitchen either cooking the family meal or trying to invent new recipes using the ingredients in my parents fridge.
What inspired you to write your book?
I have quiet a few friends and colleagues who don’t often cook at home. I wanted to share with people that is possible to cook a quick and healthy meal even after sending a long day at the office. One of the reasons why I also developed my steps cooking method that is featured in the book.
What is your favourite meal?
My favourite sit down meal would be Pasta I really love a traditionally cooked pasta dish from an Italian restaurant.
What is your favourite food?
I have to say Sushi I know its not for everyone but I love it 🙂
Do you have any particular memories linked to your cooking?
One high school memory that really sticks out for me, was when during a cookery class project my dish was selected to be one of the courses at a dinner that the class was to cook for important guests. This success really helped me push forward with my love of food and cooking.
Who is your favourite celebrity chef?
This would have to be an Australian celebrity cook called Maggie Beer, she has really inspired me on my cooking and food adventure.
Displaying IMG_20150124_140625~2.jpg
Adam has kindly provided one of his recipes for readers of booksandbrooches, this looks delicious and I can’t wait to try it!
Displaying pudding1.JPG
¼ cup water
• 1½oz/ 50g dark chocolate (70% cocoa solids)
• 2 tbsp white sugar
• Two-thirds cup heavy/double cream
• 2 tsp corn flour
• 1 tbsp milk
• Extra chocolate for decoration
1. Bring water to the boil.
2. Break up chocolate into small pieces.
3. Add chocolate and stir until dissolved.
4. Remove from heat.
5. Top up water if needed.
6. Add the sugar and stir until dissolved.
7. Add the cream.
8. Mix milk and corn flour until combined.
9. Return mixture to a low heat and bring to simmer.
10. Remove from heat.
11. Add milk and flour mixture and whisk until thick.
12. Poor into serving bowls.
13. Cover with plastic wrap/cling film.
14. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours.
15. Top with shards of chopped dark chocolate.
If you like the look of this check out his website http://adampittaway.co.uk
Thank you Adam for popping by!
Let me know if you try this! Would you like to see more of these features on the blog? Let me know.
Lucyx
2 thoughts on “Live to Eat

Leave a Reply

